Global Jewish Discussion Circle

Wednesday July 28 at 12.30pm (Pacific) 3.30pm (Eastern) 8.30pm (UK)

Upcoming Events:

August 25: Discussion Circle: Making the Jewish Community More Affirming for Autistic People
Let's talk about how we can make our community more inclusive and supportive for autistic individuals. Your ideas and experiences are important to this conversation.

Special Book Club Event with Dr. Julia Watts Belser!

We are thrilled to invite you to a special event for the inaugural Jewish Autism Network Book Club on Sunday, August 4th at 9am (Pacific) Noon (Eastern) 5pm (UK) Join us for an engaging discussion and Q&A with Dr. Julia Watts Belser about her groundbreaking book, Loving Our Own Bones. The event will be moderated by Mathew Lawrence and Simcha Weinstein.

We are excited to invite you to a special interactive Allyship Zoom seminar designed just for families, caregivers, spouses, and siblings! Whether you're looking to learn more or support a loved one, this seminar will provide valuable insights and strategies to better understand Burnouts in autistic loved ones.

🌟 Seminar Highlights:
Interactive Presentation: Engaging, informative, and designed to equip you with practical knowledge.

Live Q&A Session: Your chance to ask questions and get expert advice.

Seminar led by the Matthew Lawrence, Autistic Teacher, Guide, Trainer, and Life Coach – The #ActuallyAutistic Coach."

Sunday August 11 at 1.30pm (Pacific) 4.30pm (Eastern) 9.30pm (UK)

Read the latest from our contributors.

Addressing Mental Health Challenges for Neurodivergent Youth

I'd like to share with you an article I've been working on for some time, it addresses mental health challenges for neurodivergent youth.

Family Empowerment Day in Albany

Here's a snapshot of me at Family Empowerment Day in Albany, advocating for inclusive policies and support for families across New York State.

DEADLINE EXTENDED Calling all neurodivergent Jewish torah nerds

We are the co-editors of a forthcoming essay collection entitled NEURODIVERGENT TORAH and we are currently accepting proposals for submissions.

What is Neurodivergent Torah? You tell us. Divrei Torah, personal experiences, visions for a brighter future, and everything in between are welcome!

At this stage we are taking proposals for articles to be included. Have a great idea that you’re passionate about writing about?

Tell us about it in a proposal no more than 800 words.

Looking forward to hearing from you, Liz Shayne, Matthew Lawrence & Simcha Weinstein

Intro

Our Story

We’re a Brooklyn-based couple on a mission to make our community a more comfortable place for Autistic individuals and their families.

Together, we founded the Jewish Autism Network, a global shtetl where you can kvell and kvetch with people who get it!

Pics:
Kathy Hochul, Governor of New York State
Ambassador Deborah Lipstadt, Special Envoy to Monitor & Combat Anti Semitism

Attending Governor Kathy Hochul's Rosh Hashanah gathering at the Center for Jewish History on September 19th. Among the many initiatives highlighted was a commitment to recognizing the unique issues surrounding Jewish Americans’ Mental health.

The New York State Office of Mental Health (OMH) created the Spotlight on Jewish Americans Campaign to provide resources to develop a webinar to the existing equity series that will preface cultural and religious considerations, address antisemitism and its effects, and provide best-practice approaches in the provision of behavioral health services for this community.

Over the last year, we’ve embarked on a series of advocacy trips to Albany. Our mission? To meet political figures and engage in discussions about developmental disabilities legislation.

We had the incredible opportunity to voice our concerns, share personal stories, and advocate for change. Working towards a more inclusive and equitable future for all is an empowering experience!

Pics:
Angelo Santabarbara, Assemblyman & Dadvocate
John W. Mannion, Chairman of the Senate Committee on Disabilities Rebecca Seawright, Chair of the Assembly Committee on Disabilities
Simcha Eichenstein, Assemblyman
Kerri Neifeld, Commissioner of the Office for People with Developmental Disabilities (OPWDD)
Shelley Mayer, Chair of the Senate Committee on Education

We provide a warm, independent, nonjudgmental place to connect, community outreach, and practical support for Autistic self-advocates.

We're neither establishment nor experts: we’re families, and we’re stronger together.

Intro